Team Player

I’m not a good team player. There, I said it. The point of winning is often lost on me. I would make a terrible U9 soccer coach. When I run a marathon, seeing the finish line doesn’t make me speed up, instead it tells me I’ve made it. I’m done! Do I not like to participate? The opposite, in fact, is true. I’m there for the love of the game! I smell the roses!

Luckily, I am a person who tests well, because study skills have never been my strong suit either. Why? Because I love to learn! Seems counterintuitive doesn’t it?

I’m also someone who remembers things. Lots of things. I remember the kid who picked me first for kickball when I was in 3rd grade and he was in 4th. His name was Steven, I remember the box of Swedish fish I received in college from the manager from my summer job at a Pharmacy. I love the little things. I believe it’s small acts of kindness that show you care.

In the workplace, we don’t often get credit for the little things. We’re expected to do our job, and then some. Instead of feeling appreciated for doing a better job each day, often the frustrations pile on. One day I decided that wasn’t enough for me. My job has changed from becoming one of clinical involvement in people’s lives to one of constantly changing computer systems. I was given the opportunity to be a Team BeachBody Coach. So far it is not the best paid job, but it has potential, and more important than that, I am helping people to live better lives.

I think it’s the little motivations that help people, help all of us, to get through our days, and when one area of your life becomes positive, the rest seems to fall into place. I think it’s never to late to do what makes you happy. That happiness stays with you. It affects you, and it affects others. It makes the world, YOUR world, a better place.

Leave a Reply

